Introducing Mad Martha….and bedtime books for little gargoyles.

Mad Martha, pictured here on a holiday visit to the Cumberland Pencil Museum.

I feel it would be remiss of me at this stage not to introduce to you someone who shares shelfspace with me.  Mad Martha is another denizen of the shelf, who shares my role as book guardian, and also defends the shelf against spider hordes as and when necessary.  I have extended an invitation to her to join me in my blogging endeavour, and she has kindly accepted that invitation.

Now, to the business of musing.  I have been asked by a follower to share my knowledge in the area of books that are best suited to ushering little gargoyles (and fleshlings) off into the land of Nod.  While there are many books that fit this criteria, I have selected three that I feel do the job admirably…

A classic of the “digital” age

The first of these is Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes, by that wizard of wordsmithing, Mem Fox.   The gentle rhyming text assists little ones to count their own digits instead of the more traditional counting of sheep, in the pursuit of drowsiness.  A word of caution however: the repeated refrain of this book “and each little baby/as everyone knows/has ten little fingers/and ten little toes” may make it a controversial choice for those who do not possess a full complement of fingers or toes.  Or indeed, those that possess a full compliment plus reinforcements.

Who’s in charge here?

Next is Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late! by the incomparable Mo Willems.  This titanic struggle betwixt reader and pigeon will be all too familar to parents of  stubborn little fleshlings, for whom sleep is a dirty word.  Parents will enjoy the tried and true excuses trotted out by the manipulative pigeon and reading the book with their offspring should significantly reduce a young fleshling’s arsenal of bed-avoiding strategies.  And no, you can’t have a glass of water.

This won’t take long…

Finally, Snugglepuppy (A love song) by Sandra Boynton is the perfect way to sing your mini-me to sleep.  It’s true, the important message in this book doesn’t take long, but it is well worth conveying at any time of day. Loudly. So that the neighbours can hear. And develop a deep-seated envy of your wonderful connection with your young fleshling.  And wish were half the parent you are.

Please feel free to comment and share any other wonderful bedtime books that you feel should be added to the list.

Finally, today is Roald Dahl Day…you may wish to celebrate by eating copious amounts of quality chocolate.  Or perhaps a giant peach.  I wish to celebrate by sharing this quote from the man himself – about the value of bookshelves.

Until next time,

Bruce.

8 thoughts on “Introducing Mad Martha….and bedtime books for little gargoyles.

  1. That’s awesome! You chose three of my favorite authors and Snuggle Puppy is one of our all-time favorite. We actually reviewed that one on our site and there’s a YouTube video of me singing it (my version)! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, Sandra Boynton is a bit special, isn’t she? Our first encounter with her brilliance was “Your Personal Penguin”. It was played and sung and read to the smallest fleshling in the house while he was in utero. We still love it now!

      Like

      • Ok, you did it again! I’ve read so many Sandra Boynton books, but I don’t recall Your Personal Penguin! lol I suppose it’s always a good thing when I run across new books or it could be that my memory is going. :S

        Like

  2. We’ve reviewed that Mem Fox book too! I will definitely need to check out the Willems book. Naptime & sleeptime are certainly battles around our house 😉 Thanks for participating in the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Go throw your TV set away! «

Leave a Reply

