Haiku Review: The Gashlycrumb Tinies

Mad Martha again!  I have decided to jump on Bruce’s subversion bandwagon this week and invite The Gashlycrumb Tinies over for a playdate.  Now I have only just recently discovered Edward Gorey, and quite frankly, I am astounded that neither Bruce nor I had encountered him sooner.  For those unfamiliar with Mr Gorey, he seems to be quite fond of the slightly macabre, and as such is a man after my own heart.  I have already become quite enamoured of the delightful tome that will be reviewed here today and would recommend it to anyone with synchronous interest in alphabet books and tales of ghastly death.  Starting with “A is for Amy who fell down the stairs”, this title proceeds to identify 26 diverse circumstances in which one might meet their final demise.  My personal favourite is that befalling poor old “X – is – for – Xerxes” (devoured by mice, and pictured below).  So please enjoy my review of my first, but surely not final, experience with Edward Gorey:

Death, alphabetised:

A brief, cheerful dalliance

with offbeat egress.

Yours in reading!

Mad Martha

2 thoughts on “Haiku Review: The Gashlycrumb Tinies

  1. I am very surprised that you have not discovered Mr Gorey sooner! But glad that you finally have! I think that he is probably right up your alley. Mr Gorey is gorily funny and I have this book on my wish list. It will go nicely with my ABC books. And your Haiku is quite brilliant. I look forward to them.

    Like

    • Yes, and strangely, there are no books by Edward Gorey available in our vast network of libraries….a conspiracy methinks. Or perhaps he is too specifically American? I will continue to seek him out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

