Decisions, decisions: 2013 Reader’s Challenge Prep…

Afternoon all.  No doubt some of you are still sleeping off some recent gut-busting feast-related behaviour, so I thought I would make this a fairly gently post out of respect for your continuing processes of digestion.  To that end, I thought I would float my current ideas for responding to Beth Fish’s “What’s In A Name” Reading Challenge.  Given that the challenge only has six categories, and given that I am perfectly capable of reading at least 25 times that number of books in a year (probably), I have decided that I will attack this challenge twice.

But why, Bruce, why?  What benefit could there be in submitting yourself to the same challenge twice? Well frankly, I’m glad you asked.  And I’m touched by your concern….thank you dear reader!  I have decided to respond to this challenge with a regular, run-of-the-mill, list of books that meet the requirements…..and then repeat this feat with books by or about Agatha Christie!! Brilliant! Long-time readers of this blog will be aware of my Christie fandom, and this seemed like a perfect excuse…ahem….opportunity to get some more Christies under the belt.

So here are my choices (at present) for each category, for my Christie Listie, and my Christie-less List.

Category 1: A book with Up or Down (or its equivalent) in the title

death in the cloudsblue jay

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Category 2: A book with something you might find in your kitchen in the title

curtainJam

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Category 3: A book with a party or celebration in the title

 

murder is announcedjanuary first

I should probably point out that while there are other Christie titles that more obviously fit this category, such as Halloween Party and After the Funeral, I have already read them.  So I had to be a bit obscure instead (insert evil laugh here).

Category 4: A book with fire or its equivalent in the title

 

chimneys

smoke and mirrors

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Category 5: A book with an emotion in the title

sad cypresshopeless maine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Annoyingly, Sad Cypress seems to be the only Christie title with an emotion in the title I can find.  If anyone can find another, please feel free to let me know – I like to have options!

Category 6: A book with lost or found or its equivalent in the title

missing daysarchived

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m being a bit cheeky in this category too: see, if something is archived, it is to allow it to be FOUND easily and prevent it from being LOST…..

Well, if anyone has any suggestions or feedback about these lists feel free to chime in.  They aren’t set in stone (heheee, geddit? Gargoyle? Set in stone? Ahh, I crack myself up…..heheeeeeee! geddit? Stone? Crack Up?  Ah, excuse me while I wipe the tears of mirth from my eyes….)

Until next time,

Bruce

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions: 2013 Reader’s Challenge Prep…

  1. Pingback: What’s In A Name Challenge: A Murder is Announced… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  2. Pingback: Are you Prepared for the Jam-pocalypse?: What’s in a Name Reading Challenge… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  3. Pingback: Challenging Reads: January First… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  4. Pingback: Reading Challenge Re-booted: Smoke and Mirrors… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  5. Pingback: What’s in a Name Challenge: Death in the Clouds… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  6. Pingback: What’s In A Name Challenge: Curtain… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  7. Pingback: Atlantis Re-imagined: What’s in a Name Challenge | thebookshelfgargoyle

  8. Pingback: What’s In a Name Challenge: Creepy and Maud… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  9. Pingback: What’s In A Name Challenge: Absent in the Spring… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  10. Pingback: What’s In A Name Challenge: The Boy Who Lost His Face… | thebookshelfgargoyle

Leave a Reply

