Read it if…: Anna Dressed in Blood

Happy New Year to all of you in Blogtopia! I have decided to start the year with an absolute fire-cracker of a Read-it-if…it’s one I’ve been wanting to read for a while and now, having accomplished this task, I feel I must share my thoughts with you all as it has been a bit of a rollercoaster thrill-ride that may or may not be to your taste.

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake is a young adult horror, ghosty, slash and smash, slice and dice adventure.  Essentially, it charts the story of Cas, a young lad who is tasked with dispatching murderous ghosties by virtue of his inheritance of ghostie-slaying powers through his father’s bloodline.  I’ve seen many reviews for this book, some glowing, some not, but the cumulative effect of these did not prepare me for the gory, terrifying and downright compelling nature of this book.  At a number of points I wanted to give this book up because of its graphic and scarifying scenes of gut-splattering horror, but the writing was so good I just had to pick it up again….Having said that, I have also decided to put a little spoiler section in below: “Don’t read it if…”, so that those of a more delicate constitution can make an informed choice before plunging in.

9781408320723

Read it if:

  • you are the type of person who thinks that the “Saw” films should be categorised as light entertainment
  • you think YA romances containing vampires are sooooo 2011…and that no YA romance these days should be without at least one deadish, ghosty type character
  • you can’t wander past a cemetery without donning a pouch of  protective herbs and anointing yourself with a patchouli poultice

DON’T read it if (SPOILER ALERT):

  • you think Finding Nemo should be categorised as horror
  • you don’t like stories where pets come to harm…particularly out of the blue
  • you have even a mild aversion to any of the following: blood, haunted houses, ghosts, witches, magic, voodoo, exploding corpses or patchouli

I can’t say I enjoyed this book – it kept me too tense for that – but I certainly found it a compelling read, and I will therefore reserve the sequel, Girl of Nightmares, at the library when it comes out in paperback.

Until next time…And here’s a hot tip: I hear Bruce may be bestowing a second round of Gargie Awards any day now to usher in the new year! (Keep it under your hat).

Mad Martha

4 thoughts on “Read it if…: Anna Dressed in Blood

    • Yes, I suspected you may have an aversion to patchouli…not the book for you then. We do mark the passage of time…in fact, gargoyle new year will occur in the next few days…

      Like

  1. Well, I received this as a Christmas present so will definitely be reading. Not sure I would categorise Saw as ‘light entertainment’ *gulps*. Still, I’m going to press on and read it!
    Thanks for the review.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

