Spine Poetry: Domestic Drama

And now for something completely different! Well, a bit different, considering I do poetry fairly regularly.  A month or two ago I was introduced to Spine Poetry – I can’t remember which blog I was browsing, or indeed the meme that spawned it (feel free to enlighten us all if this happens to be something you indulge in regularly!) – but this fantastic concept involves creating a poem using the titles of books…and taking a photo of their spines in poetic order.

For my first attempt I have selected some YA/Kid Lit tomes from the shelf to create a poem entitled: “Couched in Casualty”

spine poetry one

My place:

The curious incident of the dog in the night time.

Our big blue sofa, cracked.

Breathe.  Unwind.

It’s kind of a funny story.

For those interested, the details of the books pictured are as follows (links to more info in the thumbnails):

my place curious incident

 

My Place by Nadia Wheatley and Donna Rawlins

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon

 

big blue sofacraccked

Our Big Blue Sofa by Tim Hopgood

Cracked by K. M. Walton

 

 

breatheunwind

 

 

Breathe: A Ghost Story by Cliff McNish

 

 

 

Unwind by Neal Shusterman

 

 

its kind of a funny story

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

This was harder than I thought it would be, but I believe I’ll still indulge when the mood takes me.  I’d love to hear of the work of other spine poets also!

Until next time,

Bruce

12 thoughts on “Spine Poetry: Domestic Drama

  1. I’m terrible at bookshelf poetry. I’ve tried a few times and I think I have such great ideas… but when I go to my shelves and begin to pull out my selections… it just never quite falls into place. I like this little poem. 🙂 and most of those are books I’m unfamiliar with.

    Like

    • It is certainly a lot harder than it looks! I had some great ideas, but then realised that I didn’t actually own the books and so I couldn’t use them in the poem…d’oh! I could plan the poem first and then borrow all the titles I need from the library I suppose…

      Like

  2. Cool! This could be a neat classroom activity. My husband and i do this with movie titles and quotes sometimes 🙂 Thanks for linking in to the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

    Like

  3. What a fun idea! I’m tucking this away for those days in our homeschooling when nobody wants to write! This should shake things up a bit. I’m so glad you linked this up with Booknificent Thursday! I really enjoy the voice you bring to book discussions, so much so that I’ve subscribed to your blog by email (bringing you to a nice round 200 – congratulations!) and liked you on facebook. Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

