Utopi-rama!: Introducing a New Feature and a New Reviewer…

Good morning all! Today I am excited to introduce a brand new feature for the blog and a brand new reviewer, who has been shuffling about the shelf for a good long while now, but has finally made the leap into sourcing books for our glorious work.

First, the feature.  It may come as a surprising, perhaps even shocking revelation, but I can finally admit that I am getting a bit over dystopian novels.

There. I said it.

Gasp in horror if you must, but I have reached the point where if I have to read one more blurb (attached to a YA novel or otherwise) indicating mass death and destruction by zombification/totalitarian state/natural disaster/human-made disaster/mutated virus or otherwise, then I may have to jab myself in the eyeball with a toothpick.

I have reached my dystopian limit.

Instead of bemoaning the fact (more than I already have), I have decided to implement a new feature, titled:

utopirama button

This will be a semi-regular feature to celebrate all things utopian in the literary world.  For want of a better term, this feature will be promoting comfort reads – the kind of books with no nasty surprises, that you can confidently pick up when you’re feeling a bit dissatisfied with the state of the world, or have had your fill of zombification/totalitarianism/natural disaster etc etc…

And who better to select the books for this feature than our good friend and shelf-dweller, the Marquis de Chuckleworthy!  Although as his proper name is a bit of a mouthful, we on the shelf tend to just call him Larry.  As in “Happy As…”

You can probably guess why from his picture.

MdeC 2

Larry will be sourcing the books for this segment, and I will be presenting them to you, for your viewing and reading pleasure, with pleasure being the operative word.

Without further ado, here is Larry’s first offering, The Dalai Lama’s Cat by David Michie!

dalai lamas cat

Quick Overview:

A cat born in the slums of India serendipitously finds itself saved from death and whisked away to share the dwelling of the Dalai Lama.  His Holiness’s Cat (aka Rinpoche, aka Mousie-Tung, aka The Most Beautiful Creature Ever Seen) reflects on this good fortune and shares her insights about the way to enlightenment in the way that only an exalted feline can.

Utopian themes:

Reclining cats

Crisp mountain air

Cheerful Lamas

Bookshops at the end of the world

Protective Bubble-o-meter:

protective bubbleprotective bubbleprotective bubbleprotective bubble

4 out of 5 bubbles for encouraging the gentle stretching of one’s comfort zone

So there you have it.  Thank you for joining us for the first ever Utopi-rama.  We would love to hear what titles you consider to be the perfect comfort read in times of inner or outer turmoil!

Until next time,

Bruce (and Laughin’ Larry)

Follow on Bloglovin

my read shelf:
Bruce Gargoyle's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

7 thoughts on “Utopi-rama!: Introducing a New Feature and a New Reviewer…

  1. I like words and puns…I get my fix here and it pleases me…although the phrase ‘dystopian limit’ does distress me somewhat, I will cope with the void with some utopi-rama, the new Shangri-la…or perhaps the existing one or something.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Word Exchange: The end of the world as we splerg it… | thebookshelfgargoyle

  3. Pingback: MARTians: A Five Things I’ve Learned Review…(and a Top Book of 2016 Pick!) | The Bookshelf Gargoyle

  4. Pingback: An Fi50 Reminder and TBR Friday! | The Bookshelf Gargoyle

Leave a Reply

