An Easy-to-Keep Resolution: Small Fry Safari Kid Lit Readers Challenge links are up!

small fry image

Good afternoon New Year’s revellers!  It’s resolution day – yes, the one day of the year that all beings, be they stone or flesh, are encouraged to make resolutions that are destined to be abandoned before the balloons from New Year’s celebrations have shrivelled like unloved plums.  As I am a kind and benevolent being however, I here present to you a resolution that will be easy – nay, enjoyable – nay, uplifting! – NAY! LIFE CHANGING*! – to keep.  That, my friends, is the resolution to participate in the Small Fry Safari Kid Lit Readers Challenge!  The details of the challenge run thusly:

1. Read at least one book from each category listed below.  Make sure the books you choose are aimed at Small Fry – that is, the target audience of the book must be aged from birth to 18 years (or 21 for our American friends).  So you can read picture books, early chapter books, graphic novels, middle grade books or young adult books.  The categories are:

A book with something related to Safari in the title

A book with a piece of furniture in the title

A book with a specific time in the title

A book with someone’s name in the title

A book with something that comes in pairs in the title

A book with something precious in the title

A book with something unsightly in the title

A book with some form of wordplay in the title

2. Link your reviews/progress under the relevant linky lists on the category link up page (you can find it below).  If you don’t have a blog, you could link to your Goodreads shelf/reviews, or simply comment on the challenge page as you go.

3. Before you begin, write a post (or comment) announcing your resolution to participate and add it to the link on the main challenge page.

4. Buy and wear a garish safari style hat and wear it while reading your challenge books (optional).

So what are you waiting for? Jump on the safari bus with the intrepid explorers who have already signed on!  For more information about the challenge, click on the challenge image at the top of this post. *Life-changing nature of participation in the challenge not a guarantee*

FOR THOSE WHO HAVE ALREADY RESERVED THEIR PLACE ON THE SAFARI BUS:

As the clock ticked over last night, my little shelf-elves were hard at work putting together the link up page for each of the categories of the Small Fry Safari Kid Lit Readers Challenge 2014!  If you have already signed up for the challenge, you can find the category link up page here, or as a sub-tab of the main challenge page in the blog header.   Also, you may notice at the top of the page I have included an alternate challenge button design – you might find it hard to believe, but some people find it disturbing to look upon my wizened countenance and therefore I have provided a rosy-cheeked safari-ing cherub for those sensitive folk.  Feel free to grab either one from my sidebar.

I look forward to safari-ing with you all this year.  Hi Ho Safari-Gargoyles, AWAY!

Bruce

Follow on Bloglovin

my read shelf:
Bruce Gargoyle's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

12 thoughts on “An Easy-to-Keep Resolution: Small Fry Safari Kid Lit Readers Challenge links are up!

  1. Pingback: Going on Safari | Reading With Rhythm

  2. I have never been on a safari. Wow! Now I can and you bet I will. Can’t wait to strap those trophies to my safari jeep, right up on the hood like a good hunter. Is this a year long challenge, because I don’t know if I can leave home for a year. Have my own little lions to care for and pet sitters are not cheap (ask me, I’m a pet sitter and I am not cheap). Enough babbling. Where’s the bus?

    Like

  3. I’m looking forward to it. I just posted a book that would have counted under one of the categories but I want to make sure the button and the challenge are included in the post. I can’t wait to post my first review for the challenge. Thanks for linking into the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

