If you love books, set them free…..

Welcome one and all, and let me be the first (from this shelf) to wish you all a happy International Book Giving Day!

Book giving posterWhat, you didn’t know it was International Book Giving Day? Well what did you think today was? The Worldwide Day of Overspending on Chocolates and Flowers? Well, it could be that too. But we prefer to promote book giving day around here, because it might result in someone giving us a book (because, you know, we of the shelf are fairly deficient in that area).  Or maybe not.

A group of people who are somewhat restricted in their access to brand new books however, are those who do not have a fixed place to call home.  Which is why this year, to celebrate IBGD, I will be supporting the Footpath Library!

For those of you who are unaware of the Footpath Library and its mission (as indeed was I up until a few months ago), this fantastic charitable organisation aims to get new books into the hands of those living on the streets, in shelters or hostels, in their cars, on other people’s couches and basically anywhere that isn’t somewhere that any of us would really like to call “home”.  When you think about it, this is a brilliant idea, and one that I would never have considered.  If I paused for a moment to imagine what would happen to we shelf denizens if we were ever to become shelf-less, the one thing we wouldn’t lose would be our love of reading – however it might suddenly become a lot harder to get our collective paws on reading material.  Disaster!

The generous poppets at the Footpath Library are aiming to overcome this problem and well done them, I say.  People can help the Footpath Library by donating books, donating money, donating bookcases or donating knitted items.  For more information about the Footpath Library and how you can get involved, check out their website here, or click on their logo:

footpath library

As the Footpath Library does have a few guidelines as to the condition and content of donated books (which you can also find out about at their website), I have decided to support them by “Shouting for a Cause” – so I have shouted them the cost of a book and a coffee.  I may even make this a regular thing, it’s so easy to do – just click on the Shout for Good link on their webpage and off you go!

So in the flurry of romanticism that always erupts at this time of year, don’t forget to consider passing on the lovingest gift of all to someone you know or someone you don’t – a book!

Until next time,

Bruce

.

 

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “If you love books, set them free…..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s