Bruce’s Lucky Dip: My first book (of titles one wouldn’t expect in a My First book)…

image

Morning all! Today I will be presenting a lucky dip, which involves typing a term into the Book Depository’s search engine and carefully mining, processing, polishing and presenting to you all the diamonds in the rough that you perhaps wouldn’t normally encounter in your day-to-day book searchery.

This time around, I thought I’d search for that perrenial favourite of children’s literature – the “my first” book.  You know the type. My First Book of Colours, My First Book of Horses and Ponies…..how odd, I hear you ask, could this search really get?  Well sit back my friends and enjoy My First Lucky Dip of My First Books for Odd Children and Others…

For the budding politician, thespian or other precocious child: 

My First Monologue Book: 100 Monologues for Young Children (Kirsten Dabrowski)….Initially I read that title as one thousand monologues.  Still, at 100 there’s probably about 95 too many here.  I can imagine this kid being a right old hit at dinner parties later in life, can’t you?

my first monologue

For the budding philosopher or pint-sized lover of classical literature:

My First Kafka: Runaways, Rodents and Giant Bugs (Matthue Roth/Rohan Daniel Eason) … actually, I wouldn’t mind this one myself. I’m quite happy to have classic literature dumbed down for me so I can look intelligent at parties without having to actually read the original.

my first kafka

For the budding sociopath:

Hack/Slash: My First Maniac (Tim Seeley)…admittedly, I don’t think this one’s for kids…

my first maniac

For the budding granny, grandad, craft or fashion enthusiast:

My First Cardigan Workbook: Knit Your Way to Success with 8 Top-Down Cardigans (Georgia Druen)….notice that the title indicates that success will come with the cardigans.  Who’d have thought – all this time people have been chasing success through money, hard work, cheating…when all they had to do was foster a love for the twin set.

my first cardigan

For the budding geneticist or evil cloning genius:

My First Book About DNA (Katie Woodard)..I can just picture a whole generation of small girls using this book as the first step in cloning a whole army of Dollies…

my first dna

And finally, for the slightly impressionable young Harry Potter fan:

My First Little Workbook of Wicca (Violet Rieth)…nope, I didn’t see that one coming either!

wicca book

If you know of any unexpected (yet welcome!) My First titles, please do share them in the comments!

Until next time,

Bruce

14 thoughts on “Bruce’s Lucky Dip: My first book (of titles one wouldn’t expect in a My First book)…

  1. Oh, some of those are wonderful! I want to get hold of My First Kafka and see just how he is presented for kids! (Begging the obvious question, WHY?!).

    Like

  2. Ooo may have to splash out on the granny book, I bet there are some kickin’ designs in it, splice that with the maniac book and that would be one heck of a read.

    Like

  3. So perhaps if a child decided to do a spell, then they could use the Wicca book for directions, the Monologue book for a dramatic way of saying the spell, all with the aim of turning someone into a Kafkaesque insect. Of course, they would have to understand the DNA of the new insect creature and perhaps knit it a cardigan. Just popping over from the #kidlitbloghop (20).

    Like

  4. I’ve been to lots of dinner parties where I’m practically positive that the loud person 2 seats down who won’t let a word in edgewise is culling from the repertoire in that “My first monologues” book…

    Like

Leave a Reply

