Author Spotlight and GIVEAWAY!: The Purple Girl by Audrey Kane…

the purple girlGood morning to you all! I am very glad you chose to stop by today because we have a real treat in store for you.  Audrey Kane, author of middle grade fantasy adventure new release The Purple Girl has dropped by the shelf to tell you a bit more about the inspiration behind the book and to offer the chance to WIN a SIGNED paperback copy! Woot!!  (But in case you can’t wait to find out if you’ve won, you can buy it here).

In case you missed it, Mad Martha haiku-reviewed the book on Friday, and you can catch up by reading the post here. Go on, we’ll wait.

Right then.  So here’s the skinny on Audrey herself:

As a writer, and also a designer of tapestries with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the University of Georgia, it is only natural for Audrey to weave visual stories. When she is not designing tapestries, she is busy conjuring up characters that find themselves in extraordinary situations. Between carpools and design work, she is plotting, scheming, writing, and revising. She lives in North Carolina with her husband, their three children, and her unruly dog, Rascals. Audrey’s favorite time to write is in the early morning while her family sleeps. With Rascals sprawled out snoring beside her, it only takes one oversized cup of coffee to get her mind moving.

Audrey is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators. She loves traveling, museums, and blackberry-apple pie. Actually, she loves all kinds of pie. And she especially loves her family—even if they aren’t purple.

PurpleGirl-audreyYou can find out more about Audrey and the book by visiting her website at http://www.audreykane.com

But in the meantime, Audrey herself is here to tell you more about how Violet’s story came about and how social issues are woven in amongst the fantasy threads in the book.

The Muse

As a child, I always had a stack of books by my bedside—with a notebook and a sketchpad tucked underneath them. I honestly can’t remember a time when I wasn’t reading, writing or drawing something. Not only did books keep me up late at night asthey swept me away on fantastical escapes, they inspired me to use my imagination. And since my passion for writing and art are interwoven, somehow art or color always wriggles its way into my writing. My mind thinks in pictures; the words come later.

Many readers are surprised to discover that The Purple Girl was born from a writer’s block exercise. A fellow writer suggested I try an exercise that would force me to take off my editing hat. My job was to write for twenty-five minutes without stopping. And there were rules. I wasn’t allowed to erase a word, revise a sentence or pause to collect my thoughts. The Purple Girl came to me…and I fell in love with her story. At the time, I never would have guessed that The Purple Girl would become my debut book.

I didn’t set out to write a story that would weave social issues with adventure and magic. I didn’t have a clue my character would take me there. I simply enjoyed the process of writing. I got to be in charge—be the boss! Making the rules in my world was great fun. There was a story burning to come out, and when my character whispered in my ear, I listened.

Now, I will let you in on another secret. Children and adults who overcome obstacles are truly the heart of Violet’s story. They inspire me every day. And kids who feel lonely or different always linger in the back of my mind. Whether a child is reading The Purple Girl to escape on an adventure or whether she is grasping the deeper messages woven into the story, I’m simply happy a child is reading. And if I’ve helped a child stand taller—well, that’s icing on the cake!

Alright, now here’s the bit you’ve been waiting for….the GIVEAWAY!  To enter, click on the rafflecopter link below.  Before that though, here’s the guidelines for the giveaway:

– The giveaway is open internationally, so provided you live on planet Earth and have a postal address, you should be right to enter

– One winner will be chosen at random via rafflecopter and will have 48 hours to respond to a congratulatory email before a redraw will occur.

– The winner’s prize will be shipped by the publisher – no responsibility will be taken for packages lost in the mail. Sorry.

– The giveaway is in no way related to WordPress, Goodreads, The Book Depository, Rafflecopter, Facebook or any other individual or company that is not me.

– I will be checking entries, so be honest.

click to enter button
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck everyone!

Until next time,

Bruce (and Audrey!)

7 thoughts on “Author Spotlight and GIVEAWAY!: The Purple Girl by Audrey Kane…

  1. Pingback: For the kid inside the grown-up suit: Nurturing one’s jaded inner child…and a Fi50 reminder! | thebookshelfgargoyle

  2. Thank you for introducing us to this author and her book. Ironically, my daughter has notepad upon notepad filled with ideas for books. She has been coming up with stories since she was three years old and a few years ago, we’ve been encouraging her to write down all her ideas. She insists she will become an author one day, so she’ll have plenty of material to draw from when she’s ready! Thanks for joining us in the Kid Lit Blog. I’m sorry I missed the giveaway – it’s our spring break over here and it’s an understatement to say I’m a little behind in my hopping this time around!

    Like

Leave a Reply

