A New, Revealing Feature: Bruce’s Shelfies!

image

 

Welcome to my new, shelf-centred feature: Bruce’s Shelfies! Seeing as I spend all of my time here, and it informs so much of my thoughts on books that make my acquaintance, I thought I would introduce you to some of the special nooks and crannies of my domain over the course of a few posts.

Regular readers will be aware that the shelf has recently moved, so I thought I’d start by showing you around my new abode.  This is not an exhaustive tour of the Shelfdom – think of it more as a sort of highlights package.  Come on in!

Here’s my new perch:

image

You can see that I’m looking rather smug in my new home.  Mad Martha shares this exalted spot with me and we decided that we would fill our top shelf with all our favourite fantasy and paranormal books.  Most of these have been mentioned at some point on the blog and therefore might look mildly familiar.

Underneath us, is our “classics and re-readables” shelf:

image

 

I have recently culled my Doctor Who collection, but a few remain.  You might also note a range of well-clawed Red Dwarf books, which will be the subject of a later Shelfies post.  Notably missing is a hardback set of The Lord of the Rings and another hardback set of the Chronicles of Narnia.  Both were too big to fit on this shelf, so they occupy a special place on another shelf.

For some zany reason, I decided to group all my books (that weren’t already at home on the previous two shelves) by authors from the UK together and these occupy the next shelf down.

Now, my TBR shelf:

image

 

I have ALWAYS wanted a shelf of books arranged according to colour, so I just went ahead and did it with my TBR pile.  You can also see my Good, Sad and Quirky guys (and friends!) perched upon their corresponding colour piles. Guru Dave and Toothless also occupy this shelf in order to keep their claws on the pulse of what is entering our reading world. Please let us know if you’ve read any of the books on my TBR shelf, and what you thought of them!

In other news, the fleshlings have bought a dog in order to make the house a home (awash with dog hair). Her name is Rosie and so far, has shown no interest in de-perching me, but some interest in chewing the mini-fleshlings’ board books.  Here she is, reclining:

image

 

And finally, here are the newest additions to the shelf, picked up by Mad Martha this very day at a local book sale:

image

 

She was particularly excited to stumble upon the Ian Sansom tome (on the left), as this had been on our radar as a potential candidate for our Monday is for Murder feature.  Or at least, the author is. I’m not sure there is any actual murder in the Mobile Library series. Nevertheless, gaining this one for the bargain price of 45 cents was something of a coup.  Mad Martha also snagged a short story collection by Brian Jacques, author of the Redwall series (which we haven’t read), that looks as if it might be odd and creature-filled. Bliss! To the TBR pile they go.

Next time I think I might do a bit of “Show-and-Tell” with some of my more valuable tomes…signed editions and such.  If there is anything you would like me to reveal in future editions of this feature, please do let me know and I will do my best to accommodate.

Until next time,

Bruce

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “A New, Revealing Feature: Bruce’s Shelfies!

  1. I enjoyed that tour!!! and nice to meet Ms Rosie!!! Will she be discussing board books soon? That Mobile Library book looks pretty awesome with all those chickens flapping about! Thanks for sharing the new abode!!! Looks pretty spiffy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is quite spiffy. The best thing is, the door stays closed so no grabby mini-fleshlings can sneak in and create havoc. I haven’t considered asking Rosie about reviewing. I will keep a close eye on her and see if she shows any aptitude during our discussions about books.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE looking at people’s bookshelves and of course, that of a gargoyle proves to be quite interesting! I was certainly happy to spot the Harry Potter series 😀 Your covers are different than the U.S. editions, but the sizes of the spines is how I knew what it was instantly. I’m curious, though—from the looks of it, if they are in proper order on the shelf, “Phoenix” looks thicker than “Goblet” when “Phoenix” is, in fact, the longer book. Are they placed properly? Can’t help myself lol

    Like

      • I’m just so accustomed to seeing the book spines (they sit on a shelf near the foot of my bed) and having read the series 3 times (now in my 4th–nearly done with HBP), I know the books well 🙂 Glad to be of service! lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

