Fiction in 50 January Challenge: Dredging up the Past…

Fiction in 50 NEW BUTTON

Welcome to the first Fiction in 50 Challenge prompt for 2016.  If you’d like to participate, simply create a piece of poetry or prose in fewer than 51 words and post the link in the comments.  For more detailed information about the challenge, just click on the image at the top of this post.

The prompt for this month is…

dredging up the pastAnd I have titled my contribution…

After the Funeral

 “You shan’t quibble about grandfather leaving me the silver pitcher? “ My sister dithered.  “It’ll suit my decor.  You got his old tackle box, didn’t you?  More your style!”

Grandfather always said that a tackle box was as good as a bank for storing one’s life savings.

 “I shan’t quibble.”


It took me a while to manhandle that one into the required word count, but I got there in the end.  I hope not all the prompts this year will require such brute force!

Our prompt for next month will be…

raising the bar

To get the heads-up on prompts for later in the year, just click here.

Until next time,

Bruce

7 thoughts on “Fiction in 50 January Challenge: Dredging up the Past…

Leave a Reply

