Fiction in 50 October Challenge: A Democratic Prompt

image

Welcome to Fiction in 50 for October, where stalwart writers battle with words to wrangle a coherent story in fewer than 51 words – or just slap something together at the last minute!  For more information on how to play and for future prompts, just click on the attractive button at the top of this post.

Our prompt for this month is democratic in the extreme:

with-great-comes-great

You fill in the blank!

True to my word last month, I have penned a story that is entirely free from heavenly hosts.  I have chosen…

With Great Reputation Comes Great Responsibility

…as my prompt-filler and have titled my contribution:

The Art of Adaptation

Mavis Jones, winner of nine years’ worth of championship sashes for baking, was struggling with the new competition guidelines.  She had wrestled with the nut-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, carbohydrate-reduced requirements, but the result was unworthy of her reputation.

This year, her cakes would take on all comers in the modern art competition.


I’m two words over the limit this time around.  Editing suggestions welcome!

I can’t wait to see what other players have come up with for their prompts.  For those who like to plan ahead, our prompt for November is…

an-offer-you-cant-refuse

Until next time,

Bruce

5 thoughts on “Fiction in 50 October Challenge: A Democratic Prompt

  1. Keep the 2 words–it’s perfection, and very enjoyable! I’m a tad late, having forgotten (perish the thought!) to add you to my Follows list from latest blog (lost count, maybe 50-something). Your Fi50 challenge is always one of my faves, so I’ll post shortly. Hope you and the family are well, and looking forward to yet another holiday season. Blessings to you! Delyn (no, I don’t remember the last name I used)

    Like

Leave a Reply

